Election Laws


The Code section shown below was retrieved from the website of The Alabama Legislature. You may view the entire Code of Alabama on that website.

The information contained at this web site is provided as a public service; however, its content includes links which access other internet resources and websites. The Alabama Secretary of State’s Office is not responsible for the accuracy or content of information contained in these sites. The Alabama Secretary of State’s Office is not responsible for reliance on any information contained within the site.

Section 11-46-67

Offenses of electors.

(a) Any elector who takes or removes or attempts to take or remove any ballot from the polling place at a municipal election before the close of the polls or who remains longer than the time allowed by law in the booth or compartment after being notified his or her time has expired must, on conviction, be fined not less than ten dollars ($10) nor more than one hundred dollars ($100).

(b) Any person who willfully makes to the inspectors of a municipal election a false declaration asserting an inability to prepare his or her ballot without assistance must, on conviction, be fined not less than fifty dollars ($50) nor more than five hundred dollars ($500).

(c) Any qualified elector at any municipal election who takes or receives any money or other valuable thing upon the condition that the same shall be paid at any future time in exchange for the vote of such elector for any particular candidate or the promise to vote for any particular candidate shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not less than fifty dollars ($50) nor more than five hundred dollars ($500). No witnesses shall be prosecuted for any offense under this subsection as to which the witness testifies before the grand jury.

(d) Any person who falsely impersonates another and thereby or otherwise fraudulently casts a vote in a municipal election or, having voted at such election votes a second time, whether in the same ward or another, shall, on conviction, be punished by hard labor for the county for not more than 12 months or by a fine of not less than five hundred dollars ($500) nor more than two thousand dollars ($2,000) or by both fine and sentence to hard labor.

(e) Any absentee voter who shall willfully make or subscribe to an oath falsely in order to qualify to vote at a municipal election shall, on conviction, be punished by hard labor for the county for not more than 12 months or by a fine of not less than five hundred dollars ($500) nor more than two thousand dollars ($2,000) or by both fine and sentence to hard labor.

(f) Any person voting at any municipal election who has not registered and taken and subscribed to the registration oath must, on conviction, be fined not less than one hundred dollars ($100) nor more than one thousand dollars ($1,000) and may also be imprisoned in the county jail or sentenced to hard labor for the county for not less than one nor more than six months.

(Acts 1961, No. 663, p. 827, §47; Acts 1976, No. 358, p. 403, §19; Act 2010-687, p. 1660, §1.)
Back to Election Law Titles